tear here

Make a zine! Sell a zine! Do it at the zine fair.

The zine fair consistently attracts a number of interstate visitors and guests, with last year’s fair attended by the director of the nation’s only zine specific shop, the Melbourne based Sticky Institute, as well as Vignette Press managing director Lisa Dempster, TINA directors Tom Doig, Nicholas Lowe and Amy Ingram, the director of the Wollongong and Sydney Writers’ Festival zine fair, Maddy Phelan and our first overseas zinester, Josie Long from the UK. This year’s festival has already received expressions of interest from Melbourne’s Breakdown Press, renowned US independent publisher Dave Roche (who is planning an Australian Zine Tour in association with the Sticky Institute) as well as well known Australian zine publishers such as Anna Poletti (who recently completed a PhD on zines), Jessie Lymn, Big Fag Press and Arlene Texta Queen.

Adelaide Zine and DIY Fair
Saturday March 14th 2009

Event Coordinators:
Sam Rodgers and Michelle de Cean
Email Sam to take part: samwise27@gmail.com

The Adelaide Zine and DIY Fair has been run annually since 2005, beginning as an independent event before attracting attention and support from the Fringe festival in 2006. It is the only event of its kind in South Australia, allowing zine publishers, independent writers and artists an opportunity to meet each other as well as exchange and sell their work. Last year’s event featured sixty zine and independent publishers, ranging from members of the Unley City young writers’ group, long standing punk fanzine writers, local poets and artists, members of the Magdalene Community Centre and a vast array of young and emerging writers who have utilised zine publishing as the cheapest and easiest way to produce their work. The Fringe estimated around 1000 visitors over the course of the day.

Format Festival Adelaide 2009 - It could be quite good.

March 1st to 15th 2009
145 Hindley Street, Adelaide

proudly sponsored by...
Graham F Smith Peace TrustAdelaide Fringe 2009Adelaide City Council